قائمة الأفلام


هناك الآلاف من الأفلام التي صنعتها المرأة، لصالح المرأة، وحول المرأة. التوصيات التي نقدمها حول الأفلام سوف تلهمك كي تتعلمي، وتركزي، وتُعجبي، وتتصرفي.


 


ترشحي أيتها الجدة ترشحي، الولايات المتحدة، 2007، مارلو بوراس

تقول دوريس هادوك "الجدة دي" عن حياتها: "لم يفت الأوان أبداً على تقديم بعض الاحتجاجات الصاخبة"، وقامت في سن التسعين بعقد رباط حذائها الرياضي وسارت مسافة 3000 ميل في أنحاء أمريكا من أجل الاحتجاج على النفوذ الكبير للمال في الانتخابات. لكن هذه كانت مجرد تحمية بالنسبة إلى دوريس.

وفي سن الرابعة والتسعين، تنتهز فرصة غير متوقعة كي تترشح لمجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي. عملت دوريس وطاقمها المتنوع من الخبراء السياسيين والهواة ضد كل الاحتمالات، وشنوا حملة قوية تجسد المثاليات الديمقراطية لحكم الشعب، عن طريق الشعب، من أجل الشعب.

إن هذه الجدة لستة عشر شخصاً، والتي تبتسم من تحت قبعة قش عريضة الحافة وتسافر على متن منزل متحرك مدهون يدوياً بألوان كثيرة، تمثل أي شيء عدا صورة السياسي المتأنق. لكن حملة الجدة لا تدور حول الأداء على الإطلاق، وإنما حول العاطفة.

نساء حديديات من ليبيريا، 2007، ليبيريا/الولايات المتحدة، سياتا سكوت-جونسون ودانييل جانج

يراقب الكثيرون إلين جونسون-سيرلييف، رئيسة ليبيريا، باعتبارها مثالاً على قائدة في وضع صعب بشكل غير عادي. إذا نجحت، فربما تستطيع نساء أخريات في منصبها تخطي لقب "قائدات نساء" إلى لقب "قائدات" فقط.

إن ليبيريا أمة مستعدة للتغيير بعد أربعة عشر عاماً من الحرب الأهلية. وقد فازت جونسون-سيرلييف في انتخابات شديدة المنافسة بدعم ساحق من النساء في كافة أنحاء ليبيريا، وأصبحت أول رئيسة منتخبة لدولة في أفريقيا. وبعد تعيينها في منصبها، قامت بتعيين المنصب نساء أخريات غير عاديات في مناصب قيادية في كل قطاعات الحكومة، بما في ذلك رئيسة الشرطة ووزيرات العدل، والتجارة، والمالية.

يأخذنا فيلم نساء حديديات من ليبيريا إلى ما وراء كواليس العام الأول للرئيسة سيرلييف في الحكم، مما يعطينا رؤية متفردة لأعمال حكومة أفريقية ديناميكية منتخبة حديثاً.

لا هيجا ديل جنرال (ابنة الجنرال)، 2006، تشيلي، ماريا إلينا وود

هيجا أو الابنة هي ميشيل باتشيليت رئيسة تشيلي. والجنرال هو والدها الراحل ألبرتو باتشيليت الذي تم سجنه بعد وصول بينوشيه إلى السلطة في عام 1973. ويروي هذا الفيلم القصة المؤثرة من الناحية الشخصية والسياسية، والتي تتم روايتها جزئياً من خلال خطابات الجنرال إلى أسرته.

إننا نتتبع ميشيل باتشيليت، التي كانت طبيبة وعسكرية اشتراكية مجهولة في السابق، وهي تسافر إلى أنحاء تشيلي في حملة الدعاية، ونستكشف بعض القوى التي تحفزها، إلى جانب فحص أهم نقاط حياتها الشخصية والأسرية. ورغم أن دكتورة باتشيليت اشتراكية، وأم غير متزوجة، ومنكرة لوجود الله؛ إلا أنها نجحت في أن تصبح أول امرأة ترأس تشيلي، وهي دولة كاثوليكية محافظة، وتجذب انتباه صحافة العالم بممارستها للسياسة بطريقتها الأنثوية المتفردة.

لاس مادريس، أمهات ساحة دي مايو، 1985، الأرجنتين، سوزانا مونوز ولورديس بورتيللو

أسوأ شيء يمكن أن يحدث لأم هو أن تفقد أحد أطفالها. إن اختفاء أحد الأطفال دون أي أثر هو عذاب بلا نهاية. أثناء السبعينيات والثمانينيات في "الحرب القذرة" في الأرجنتين، اختفى 30000 ابن وابنة. وفي مجتمع يطالب النساء بالصمت، يؤرخ فيلم لاس مادريس للأمهات الأرجنتينيات اللاتي طالبن بمعرفة مصير أطفالهن "المختفين".

ومع عثور بعض الأمهات بشكل منفرد على بعضهن، تبدأ مجموعتهن في النمو، وتتحول المأساة الخاصة إلى حركة نشطة قوية. ونشاهد تجمع مئات الأمهات في كل أسبوع في الساحة الموجودة خارج القصر الرئاسي، وهن يرتدين السواد ويحملن أسماء أطفالهن، ويسرن للتذكير دائماً بأن حاجتهن وحاجة دولتهن إلى إجابة لن تختفي أبداً.

شائعات عن الديمقراطية Dishing Democracy ، 2007، هولندا/الولايات المتحدة، بريجتي فان دير هاك

تمثل كلمة "Dishing" لعباً بالألفاظ على "طبق القمر الصناعي" وكلمة "نميمة" في اللغة الإنجليزية الدارجة.

يأتي العمل السياسي القوي في بعض الأحيان وسط سياق مدهش - مثل "كلام نواعم" وهو برنامج نقاشي لأربع نساء على قناة فضائية عربية. وعلى العكس من البرامج الحكومية الرسمية، تتحرر القنوت الفضائية من القيود القومية، والتحكم والرقابة الحكوميين، وتستغل المضيفات في "كلام نواعم" ذلك بشكل كامل ويناقشن موضوعات محظورة مثل الجنس، وتعدد الزوجات، وضرب الزوجات، والمساواة بين الرجال والنساء.

وتأخذنا الكاميرات إلى ما وراء الكواليس لمقابلة المضيفات الناشطات الصريحات اللاتي تأتي كل واحدة منهن من دولة عربية وخلفية مختلفة، كما تخرج الكاميرات إلى الشارع وإلى منازل النساء لرصد ردود أفعال المشاهد. وهي صورة مثيرة وسريعة لقوة مشاركة الأفكار عبر الحدود - أي أن تتحدث النساء إلى النساء. وكما تقول أحد المضيفات: "أنا لا أهتم بالسياسة، وإنما أهتم بالناس".

ماكيلابوليس: مدينة المصانع، 2006، المكسيك، فيكي فوناري وسيرجيو دي لا توريه

يروي فيلم ماكيلابوليس قصة النساء اللاتي يعملن في المصانع الكثيرة، أو ماكيلادوراس، على طول حدود الولايات المتحدة مع المكسيك. في تحول متفرد، قام صناع الفيلم بتدريب أشخاص الفيلم على التصوير بالفيديو حتى يستطعن رواية قصصهن الخاصة.

إحداهن هي كارمن، وهي أم غير متزوجة لثلاثة أطفال، وتعيش في كوخ مبني من أبواب الورش معادة التصنيع، في منطقة بدون شوارع مرصوفة أو أنابيب مجاري أو كهرباء. ويجب عليها أن تعمل طوال الليل، وتعني بأطفالها طوال النهار. إنها في التاسعة والعشرين من عمرها وتعاني من فشل كلوي وأنيميا بسبب السنوات التي عملت فيها في المصنع. تكسب كارمن ستة دولارات في اليوم.

تتعامل كل واحدة من النساء مع صعاب السموم البيئية، واستغلال حقوق العمال، ومسائل البنية التحتية والإسكان، وحقوق المرأة. هذه هي الوجوه الحقيقية للعولمة.

الرب ينام في رواندا، 2004، الولايات المتحدة/رواندا، كيمبرلي أكوارو وستيسي شيرمان.

على مدى ما يزيد عن 100 يوم في عام 1994، تم قتل مليون شخص من شعب رواندا. كان أكثرهم من الرجال، وأصبح 70 في المائة من السكان المتبقين من النساء. وتحملت نساء رواندا عبئاً غير عادي وفرصة غير مسبوقة. فالفتيات تذهب إلى المدرسة بأرقام قياسية، وتشكل النساء الآن جزءاً كبيراً من قيادة الدولة.

يصور فيلم الرب ينام في رواندا خمس نساء باسلات، كل منهن أصبحت يتيمة بسبب الإبادة، وتم اغتصاب العديد منهن، وإحداهن يجب عليها أن تتعامل مع فيروس الإيدز الذي أصيبت به نتيجة لذلك. ونقوم بتتبع هؤلاء النساء وهن يقمن بإعادة بناء حياتهن، وإعادة تعريف أدوار المرأة في المجتمع الرواندي، وجلب الأمل لأمة مجروحة.

هذا الفيلم القوي، الموجع للقلب والملهم، يُعتبر رسالة تذكير قاسية بعواقب المأساة الرواندية، وتقديراً لقوة وروح أولئك اللاتي يتحركن للأمام.

أعداء السعادة، 2006، الدانمارك/أفغانستان، إيفا مولفاد


كيف تقدمين الديمقراطية في دولة غالبية سكانها أميين، والأصوات للبيع، ولا تستطيع النساء ترك أطفالهن من أجل التصويت؟ تُعتبر مالالاي جويا مثالاً على ذلك. في عام 2005، ترشحت هذه المرأة الأفغانية البالغ عمرها 27 عاماً لانتخابات أول برلمان ديمقراطي في دولتها منذ أكثر من 30 عاماً. وبعد أن نجت من محاولات اغتيال متكررة، تقوم بنشر رسالتها وهي محاطة بالحراس الشخصيين. إن شجاعة جويا وقناعتها قد حولتها إلى بطلة شعبية للنساء في مقاطعتها الصحراوية النائية. وكما يذكّرنا الفيلم ببلاغة، تحتاج صناعة التغيير إلى أكثر من جنود ودبلوماسيين غربيين. يتتبع فيلم أعداء السعادة مقاتلة راديكالية من أجل الحرية وأرضاً متغيرة. لكن الأهم، أنه فيلم يدور حول الشجاعة الشخصية والاعتقاد بأن الشخص العادي لا يستطيع فقط صناعة التغيير وإنما سيصنعه بالفعل.

اختطاف إنغريد بيتانكورت، 2003، الولايات المتحدة/كولومبيا، فيكتوريا بروس وكارين هاييس

في فبراير (شباط) 2002، توقفت فجأة حملة الانتخابات الرئاسية للمرشحة الكولومبية إنغريد بيتانكورت عندما اختطفتها القوات المسلحة الثورية في كولومبيا، (فارك). ويمثل هذا الفيلم قصة شجاعتها في القتال ضد الفساد السياسي، وتصميمها على البقاء حية في الأسر، وجهود أسرتها البائسة لتحريرها والحفاظ على حملتها حية.

ومن خلال استخدام المقابلات الإذاعية المسجلة لها قبل اختطافها، تروي بيتانكورت قصتها الخاصة بشكل مؤثر. إنها حكاية ملفتة ومقلقة تكشف عن طريقة أخرى للتأثير على أسرة امرأة قررت الترشح لمنصب رئاسي. ومع مشاهدة المقابلات الشخصية مع زوجها وطفليها اليائسين والحزينين، نشعر بقشعريرة زائدة مع معرفة أنهم مازالوا بالانتظار بعد ست سنوات. ومازالت إنغريد بيتانكورت في الأسر حتى أبريل (نيسان) 2008.

السيدة بريتشارد المذهلة، 2006، المملكة المتحدة، سالي وينرايت

كم مرة قلت لنفسك: "يمكنني أن أدير هذه الدولة بطريقة أفضل!" إن فيلم السيدة بريتشارد المذهلة عبارة عن جولة مرحة، ذكية، مسلية من خلال السؤال الأساسي "ماذا لو؟"

روس بريتشارد، مديرة متجر بقال في الضواحي، فقدت الأمل في الساسة. فقررت فجأة أن تترشح للانتخابات بنفسها، وأن تصبح رئيسة وزراء في النهاية. إنها تمثل تغييراً جديداً: شخصية عادية تتحدث بما في داخلها. وخلال فترة قصيرة، تقود روس بريتشارد ثورة نسائية في السياسة البريطانية لأن النساء اللاتي يفكرن بطريقة مشابهة في كل أنحاء البلد يقلدونها في الترشح للبرلمان.

بعد أن تولت المنصب، مازال على روس أن تتابع منزلها، وأطفالها المشاكسين، وزوجها، مع قيادتها لدولتها عبر أزمات دولية. وعند كشف أسرار معينة، يتم إجبارها على الاختيار: الأسرة أو السلطة؟

الإرهابي الخاص بي، 2002، إسرائيل، يولي كوهين جيرستل

يمثل فيلم الإرهابي الخاص بي الرواية الشخصية لصانعة الفيلم يولي كوهين جيرستل عن رحلتها نحو الغفران. إننا نشعر بألم الصراع في الشرق الأوسط من خلال قصة امرأة ورجل.

التقت جيرستل الإسرائيلية مع فهد محيي الفلسطيني لأول مرة في أغسطس (آب) عام 1978 عندما صوب محيي بندقية آلية نحوها في هجوم إرهابي. أصيبت هي لكن تم قتل أحد أصدقائها وزملائها.

في تحول ملحوظ في المعتقد، بدأت جيرستل بعد ثلاثة وعشرين عاماً في البحث في أسباب العنف بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. وتجد الرجل الذي أوشك أن يقتلها وتقابله، وتحاول أن تحرره من السجن. كان هدفها أن تتقدم كناجية وتدعو إلى التصالح من كلا الجانبين. يمثل فيلم جيرستل الوثائقي المثير للمشاعر شهادة حية على التعاطف الإنساني ودعوة للسلام.

رعد في غويانا، 2003، الولايات المتحدة/غويانا، سوزان واسرمان

المخرجة سوزان واسرمان لديها قصة جاهزة ترويها في أول أفلامها. كانت ابنة عمها جانيت روزنبيرج، وهي امرأة يهودية بيضاء من شيكاغو، رئيسة دولة غويانا الأمريكية الجنوبية، وكانت تُعتبر أماً لبلدها من جانب السكان الذين ينحدرون في الغالب من أصول أفريقية غويانية وشرق هندية غويانية. من أين نبدأ؟

قابلت جانيت روزنبيرج تشيدي جاغان الغوياني وتزوجته في عام 1943، وانتقل الزوجان إلى موطنه لبدء ثورة اشتراكية. وقاتلا لأكثر من نصف قرن ضد الحكم والاستغلال الاستعماريين - رغم السجن وتدخل شخصيات عالمية بما في ذلك وينستون تشرشل وجون ف. كينيدي. وفي عام 1997، تولت روزنبرج الرئاسة بعد زوجها لتصبح أول رئيسة للبلاد مولودة في الخارج وأول امرأة تقود الدولة. ويمثل فيلم رعد في غويانا صورة غير متوقعة ومذهلة لتاريخ الدولة - والأسرة.

نساء التبت: ثورة هادئة، 2006، الولايات المتحدة/التبت، روزماري روكليف

يؤرخ فيلم ثورة هادئة لإحد الحركات الرائعة غير المشهورة للمقاومة غير العنيفة في التاريخ الحديث. في عام 1959، تجمعت 15 ألف امرأة تبتية غير مسلحة للاحتجاج على عقد من الاحتلال المسلح من الصينيين، وهو حدث أصبح معروفاً باسم "ثورة النساء".

بعد أربعين عاماً، تعيش أولئك النساء في المنفى في الهند، ويكافحن من أجل الحفاظ على لغتهن، ودينهن، وثقافتهن على أمل العودة إلى الوطن ذات يوم. ونسمع الآراء المتفردة لثلاثة أجيال من النساء: بعض اللاتي شاركن في الاحتجاج، وأخريات كن فتيات صغيرات فقط في ذلك الوقت، وأخريات وُلدن ونشأن في المنفى.

يعيش معهم في المنفى قائدهم الروحي والسياسي صاحب القداسة الدلاي لاما. ويعطي وجهة نظره بشأن النساء اللاتي يدعوهن "فامو" - أي "البطلات".

آمو، 2005، الهند/الولايات المتحدة، شونالي بوز

تروي آمو قصة لحظة مأساوية في تاريخ الهند من خلال حكاية كاجو الخيالية، وهي امرأة هندية أمريكية عمرها 21 عاماً. كل ما تعلمه كاجو عن ماضيها أنها متبناة. وعندما تعود إلى الهند لمقابلة أقربائها، تكتشف ما هو أكثر بكثير مما كانت تسعى لاكتشافه - الحياة الخفية والذكريات المدفونة لآمو، وهو اسمها الأصلي.

كانت آمو ووالداها الطبيعيان ضحايا أعمال الشغب الدموية التي اندلعت بعد اغتيال إنديرا غاندي بواسطة حراسها الشخصيين من السيخ في عام 1984. ولغرض الانتقام، تم قتل الآلاف من السيخ بما في ذلك والد آمو. وبسبب عدم قدرة والدة آمو ذات الثلاثة أعوام على رعايتها، فإنها أعطتها لموظف اجتماعي كي يتبناها.

يمثل فيلم آمو قصة النساء اللاتي يساعدن النساء على التعافي من الجراح المادية والعاطفية للفوران السياسي.


الدخول

Film List


We'd like to share a list of some of our favorite films by powerful women, about powerful women. You'll find documentaries, features and even a TV miniseries. The women you'll meet range from presidents to factory workers; girls to great-grandmothers. They raise families, run countries, mourn, laugh and make change happen-sometimes all of these at once.

We're sure at least a few of these stories will be completely new to you. Whether you watch four, or all fourteen, these films will change the way you look at Women, Power and Politics.


Run Granny Run, United States, 2007, Marlo Poras

 

Documentary, 92 minutes, In English

Doris "Granny D" Haddock says of her life: "It's never too late to raise a little hell." At the age of 90, she laced up her sneakers and walked 3000 miles across America to protest the influence of big money in elections. But for Doris, this was just a warm up.

At 94, she jumps at an unexpected chance to run for U.S. Senate. Doris and her motley crew of political aces and amateurs work against all odds and craft a feisty campaign that personifies the democratic ideals of a government of, by and for the people.

Smiling out from under a wide-brimmed straw hat, and traveling aboard a colorful, hand-painted motor home, this great-grandmother of 16 is anything but the image of a polished politician. But Granny's campaign is never about performance; it's about passion.

Iron Ladies of Liberia, Liberia/United States, 2007, Siatta Scott-Johnson and Daniel Junge

 

Documentary, 60 minutes, In English

Many are watching Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, the president of Liberia, as an example of a woman leader in an extraordinarily tough position. If she succeeds, perhaps other women in her position can move beyond the label "women leaders," to be, simply, "leaders."

After fourteen years of civil war, Liberia is a nation ready for change. Johnson-Sirleaf won a hotly contested election with the overwhelming support of women across Liberia to become the first elected female head of state in Africa. Since taking office she has appointed other extraordinary women to leadership positions in all areas of government, including the Police Chief and the ministers of Justice, Commerce and Finance.

Iron Ladies of Liberia gives behind-the-scenes access to President Sirleaf’s first year in government, providing a unique insight into the workings of a dynamic, newly elected African cabinet.

La Hija del General, Chile, 2006, María Elena Wood

 

Documentary, 59 minutes, In Spanish with English subtitles

The hija, or daughter is Michelle Bachelet, President of Chile. The General is her late father, Alberto Bachelet, imprisoned after Pinochet seized power in 1973. This film is moving story of the personal and the political, told, in part, through the General's letters to his family.

We follow Michelle Bachelet, a once anonymous doctor and socialist militant, as she travels through Chile on the campaign trail, discovering some of the forces motivating her as well as examining the high points in her personal and family life. Despite being a socialist, a single parent, and an agnostic, Dr. Bachelet succeeds in becoming the first woman President of Chile, a conservative Catholic nation, and captures the attention of the world's press with her singularly feminine way of being political.

Las Madres, The Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo, Argentina, 1985, Susana Muñoz and Lourdes Portillo

 

Documentary, 64 minutes, In Spanish with English subtitles

The worst thing that can happen to a mother is to lose a child. To have one disappear without a trace is agony without end. During the 1970s and 1980s in Argentina's "Dirty War," 30,000 sons and daughters disappeared. In a society where women are expected to be silent, Las Madres chronicles Argentinean mothers who demanded to know the fate of their "disappeared" children.

As individual mothers find one another, their group begins to grow, and private tragedy is transformed into a powerful activist movement. We watch as hundreds of mothers gather each week in the Plaza outside the presidential palace. Dressed in black, they carry their children's names. They march as an ever-present reminder that their, and their country's, need for an answer will never disappear.

Dishing Democracy, Netherlands/United States, 2007, Bregtje van der Haak

 

Documentary, 60 minutes, In English & Arabic with English Subtitles

"Dishing" is a pun on "satellite dish" and the English slang word for "gossiping."

Sometimes powerful political action comes in a surprising package-like "Kalam Nawaem," or "Sweet Talk," a four-woman talk show on Arab satellite TV. Unlike official government programming, satellite TV is cut loose from national borders, state control and censorship, and the hosts of Kalam Nawaem take full advantage, discussing taboo subjects like sex, polygamy, wife battering, and equality between men and women.

The cameras take us behind-the-scenes to meet the four vibrant and outspoken co-hosts, each from a different Arab country and background, as well as out onto the street and into women's homes to capture viewer reactions. It's an exciting, fast-paced portrait of the power of sharing ideas across borders-women talking to women. As one host puts it: "I'm not interested in politics, I'm interested in people."

Maquilapolis: City of Factories, 2006, Mexico, Vicky Funari and Sergio de la Torre

 

Documentary, 68 minutes, In Spanish with English Subtitles

Maquilapolis tells the story of women who work in the many factories, or maquiladoras, that line the US-Mexico border. In a unique twist, the filmmakers trained the film's subjects in video production so that they could tell their own stories.

One is Carmen, a single mother of three. She lives in a shack built out of recycled garage doors, in a neighborhood with no paved streets, no sewage lines and no electricity. She must work all night, and care for her children all day. At 29, she suffers from kidney failure and anemia resulting from her years of factory work. Carmen earns six dollars a day.

Each of the women is dealing with the hardships of environmental toxins, labor rights abuse, infrastructure and housing issues, and women's rights. These are the real faces of globalization.

God Sleeps in Rwanda, United States/Rwanda, 2004, Kimberlee Acquaro and Stacy Sherman

 

Documentary Short, 28 minutes, In English

Over 100 days in 1994, one million of Rwanda's people were killed. So many were men, the population left behind was now 70 percent female. Rwanda's women were given an extraordinary burden and an unprecedented opportunity. Girls are attending school in record numbers, and women now make up a large part of the country's leadership.

God Sleeps in Rwanda profiles five courageous women. Each was orphaned in the genocide, several were raped, and one must deal with the HIV she contracted as a result. We follow them as they rebuild their lives, redefine women's roles in Rwandan society and bring hope to a wounded nation.

Heart-wrenching and inspiring, this powerful film is a brutal reminder of the consequences of the Rwandan tragedy, and a tribute to the strength and spirit of those who are moving forth.

Enemies of Happiness, Denmark/Afghanistan, 2006, Eva Mulvad

 

Documentary, 58 minutes, In English, Farsi & Pashto with English subtitles

How do you introduce democracy in a country where votes are for sale and women cannot leave their children to vote? Malalai Joya is one example. In 2005, this 27-year-old Afghani woman ran in her country's first democratic parliamentary election in over 30 years. A survivor of repeated assassination attempts, she spreads her message surrounded by guards. Joya's courage and conviction have made her into a folk hero to the women of her remote desert province. As the film eloquently reminds us, making change takes more than Western soldiers and diplomats.

Enemies of Happiness follows a radical freedom fighter and a land that is changing. But more importantly it is a film about personal courage and the belief that the ordinary person not only can, but will make a difference.

The Kidnapping of Ingrid Betancourt, United States/Colombia, 2003, Victoria Bruce and Karin Hayes

 

Documentary, 76 minutes, In Spanish with English subtitles

In February 2002, the presidential campaign of Colombian Ingrid Betancourt came to a sudden halt when she was kidnapped by the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia. (FARC) This film is the story of her courage to fight political corruption, her determination to survive in captivity, and her anguished family's efforts to free her and keep her campaign alive.

Through the use of radio interviews taped before she was abducted, remarkably, Betancourt narrates her own story. It is a riveting and unsettling tale that reveals yet another way a woman's family can be affected when she decides to run for office. Watching the interviews with her desperate, grieving husband and two young children, we feel an added chill, knowing that six years later they are still waiting. As of April, 2008, Ingrid Betancourt still remains in captivity.

The Amazing Mrs. Pritchard, United Kingdom, 2006, Sally Wainwright

 

Feature, TV Miniseries, 364 minutes, In English

How many times have your said to yourself: "I could do a better job running this country!" The Amazing Mrs. Pritchard is a funny, smart, rollercoaster ride through the ultimate "what if?"

Ros Pritchard, a suburban grocery store manager, is fed up with politicians. On a whim, she decides to run for election herself, and ends up Prime Minister. She's a breath of fresh air: An ordinary person who speaks her mind. In no time she is leading a feminist revolution in British politics, as like-minded women all over the country follow her example to run for Parliament.

Once in office, Ros must still oversee her home, wayward children and husband while she guides her country through international crises. When secrets are revealed, she is forced to choose: Family or Power?

My Terrorist, Israel, 2002, Yulie Cohen Gerstel

 

Documentary, 58 minutes, In Hebrew & English with English subtitles

My Terrorist is filmmaker Yulie Cohen Gerstel's personal narrative of her journey to forgiveness. We experience the pain of the Middle East conflict through the story of one woman and one man.

Gerstel, an Israeli, first met Fahad Mihyi, a Palestinian, in August, 1978, when Mihyi pointed a machine gun at her during a terrorist attack. She was wounded; but a friend and colleague was killed.

In a remarkable twist of faith, twenty-three years later, Gerstel began questioning the causes of violence between Israelis and Palestinians. She finds and meets the man who almost killed her, and tries to get him released from prison. It was her goal to stand up as a survivor and call for reconciliation on each side. Gerstel's poignant documentary is a moving testimony of human compassion and a call for peace.

Thunder in Guyana, United States/Guyana, 2003, Suzanne Wasserman

 

Documentary, 50 minutes, In English

Director Suzanne Wasserman had a readymade story to tell in her first film. Her cousin, Janet Rosenberg, a white, Jewish woman from Chicago, was the president of the South American nation of Guyana, and considered the mother of her country by the largely African- and East Indian-Guyanese population. Where to begin?

Janet Rosenberg met and married Guyanese Cheddi Jagan in 1943, and the couple set off for his homeland to start a socialist revolution. For over half a century they fought against colonial rule and exploitation-despite imprisonment and the intervention of world figures including Winston Churchill and John F. Kennedy. In 1997, Janet Jagan succeeded her husband as president, becoming the first foreign-born and first woman to lead the country. Thunder in Guyana is an unlikely and amazing portrait of a country-and a family's-history.

Women of Tibet: A Quiet Revolution, United States/Tibet, 2006, Rosemary Rawcliffe

 

Documentary, 58 minutes, Tibetan & English with English subtitles

A Quiet Revolution
chronicles one of the great, but little-known, movements of non-violent resistance in modern history. In 1959, 15 thousand unarmed Tibetan women gathered to protest a decade of forced occupation by the Chinese, an event that came to be known as "The Women's Uprising."

Forty years later, they live in exile in India, and struggle to preserve their language, religion and culture in hopes of someday returning home. We hear the unique perspectives of three generations of women: Some who took part in the protest, others who were only girls at the times, and still others who were born and raised in exile.

Living with them in exile is their spiritual and political leader, His Holiness the Dalai Lama. He gives his perspective on the women he calls "Phamo" -"Heroes."

Amu, 2005, India/USA, Shonali Bose

 

Feature, 102 minutes, In English, Bengali, Hindi & Punjabi, with English subtitles

Amu tells the story of a tragic moment in Indian history through the fictional tale of Kaju, a 21-year-old Indian-American woman. All that Kaju knows about her past is that she was adopted. When she travels back to India to meet her relatives, she discovers much more than she was seeking-the hidden life and buried memories of Amu, her original name.

Amu and her birth parents were casualties of the bloody riots that erupted after Indira Gandhi was assassinated by her Sikh bodyguards in 1984. In retaliation, thousands of Sikhs were killed, including Amu's father. Her mother, unable to care for the three-year-old Amu, gives her to a social worker, who adopts her.

Amu is the story of women helping women to heal the physical and emotional wounds of political upheaval.


Log In