حول النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة

الرجاء تفعيل جافا سكريبت وتركيب برنامج فلاش لمشاهدة أشرطة الفيديو.


مرحباً بكن إلى عالم تحكمه النساء! عالم يتم فيه إحياء قصص لم تُحكى من قبل عن نساء يطالبن بممارسة سلطاتهن، بل ويمارسنها، حول العالم؛ ومن خلال التاريخ الذي يبرز حياً في المعرض النسائي العالمي على الإنترنت الذي يقيمه المتحف العالمي للنساء: "معرض النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة".

من 8 مارس لغاية 31 ديسمبر 2008، سيتم افتتاح معرض "النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة" أمام جماهير العالم باللغات العربية، والإنجليزية، والفرنسية، والإسبانية. سوف نركز على موضوع جديد مثير واحد في كل شهر؛ وسوف نطرح أسئلة لم يطرحها أحد من قبل. أمر لم يحدث من قبل: سوف يركز الرجال والنساء على موضوعات ذات أهمية متعلقة بمشاركة المرأة في الحياة السياسية، ويتداولون الحديث معاً حول الأمور التي تهمهم شخصياً، ويتعلمون أدوات تطوير نساء قويات، ويعملون على خلق التغيير.
 
لبدء رحلتك خلال عالم "النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة"، طالعي شريط فيديو الترحيب الذي تقدمه الرئيسة السابقة لجمهورية آيرلندا، ماري روبنسون؛ أو اقرئي خطاب أمينة المتحف ، ماسوم مومايا؛ أو تقدمي مباشرة نحو القضايا عن طريق استكشاف موضوعات تحت المجهر.

 


ماسوم مومايا أمينة متحف النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة

تقود ماسوم مومايا، أمينة المتحف، معرض النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة. وقد كانت الآنسة مومايا ناشطة في مجال حقوق المرأة لأكثر من 15 سنة، وتحمل درجات علمية رفيعة في السياسة العامة، والدراسات النسائية، والتعليم والتنمية البشرية، وعلم النفس من جامعتي ستانفورد وهارفارد. اقرئي إلهاماتها الشخصية والرؤية العامة التي تقف وراء معرض "النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة".

لن أنسى أبداً لحظة "الانتصار" أثناء الدراسة الجامعية، والتي غيرت حياتي إلى الأبد. كنت أجلس في الصف أناقش بحثاً حول النساء الريفيات في الهند، وهي أرض أسلافي. بمعظم المقاييس، قد يعتبرهن الناس مغلوبات على أمرهن- فهن فقيرات، وأميّات، ويستحققن الشفقة.

لكن لم يكن هذا ما تدور مناقشة صفّنا حوله؛ وإنما كنا نتحدث عن الأغاني التي كانوا ينشدونها، والقوة في أصواتهن، وحدة كلماتهن التي أظهرت فهماً دقيقاً للعالم من حولهن. لم تكن هؤلاء النساء المتناسقات أقل من قوة كبيرة الأهمية. 

حدثت هذه الواقعة في التسعينيات عندما أعطى العلماء تعليمات لتلاميذهم بتحليل كل شيء أو تفكيكه. كان كل شيء "معضلاً" بطريقة أو بأخرى، وكان الناس "مغفلين" بالنسبة إلى "النظام". ورغم أن هذا كان مفيداً في فهم السبب في كون الأشياء على وضعها الحالي، إلا أن الأمر استنفد قوتي الإبداعية ولم يترك لي الكثير من الأمل.

جاءت لحظة "الانتصار" عندما قلت لنفسي "لكي يكون العالم مختلفاً، يجب أن تكوني قادرة على تخيل أو تكوين رؤية للعالم الذي تريدينه فعلاً. ولا يمكن أن يحدث الأمر دون ذلك". وذلك ما كانت هؤلاء النساء في الهند يفعلنه، يتخيلن ويعبّرن من خلال الأغاني عن العالم الذي كنّ يرغبن في العيش فيه. 

وهذا ما يدور حوله المتحف العالمي للنساء ومعرض "النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة". إن المتحف، ومساهمينا، وزوارنا يخلقون معاً مكاناً لتحقيق هذا التخيل. إننا نعبّر عن رؤيتنا لعالم أفضل باستخدام الكلمات، والفن، والأفلام، والأغاني من كل أنحاء العالم ومن الماضي والحاضر.

إن الحروب تشتعل بسبب الكلمات، والفن، والطرق التي نمثل العالم بها. وفي النهاية، سيتحقق السلام، والمساواة، والعدالة الاجتماعية أيضاً من خلال تمثيل عالم جديد تماماً.

إنني أدعوكن للانضمام إلى إعادة الصياغة هذه. وكما تقول أرونداتي روي بلباقة شديدة: "العالم الآخر ليس ممكناً فقط، وإنما هو في طريقه للحدوث؛ وأستطيع سماع تنفسه في اليوم الهادئ". ويعود الأمر إلينا أن نصدر صوت ذلك التنفس.

بروح الدعوة،

ماسوم مومايا
أمينة معرض النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة


قابلي الفريق

الفريق


ماسوم مومايا  أمينة معرض النساء، والسلطة، والسياسة

ديبي كوستيللو، منسقة التحرير المؤقتة

ديبي كوستيللو ، مديرة التحرير المؤقتة

كاثرين روبنسون ، منسقة الوسائط المتعددة في المعارض

سانيا ألاج بيجوفيتش ، منسقة التحرير في المعارض

رينيه جاش ، منسقة الترويج على الإنترنت في المعارض

 

 

المستشارون


جابرييلا كانو

إيدا بلوم

منيرة مايا شاراد

هولي تايلور سارجنت

تيري ماكوليف

فريدة جالازاي

تيما كابلان

كارول تشيتكوفيتش

بورنيما بهات

جيسيكا تافت

م. جاكي أليكساندر

تريشيا موراجدا

 ديبورا بونتيني

لين ريس

 

المساهمات


أليسون دافتي ، محررة

تاميرا فيرو  مديرة مشروع الإنترنت

كريستينا موراي ، محررة فيديو

ويندي ميللر ، متخصصة في جمع الصور

جين تشينج، مديرة المعارض على الشبكة

 

لجنة المعارض


كارين أوفن

إليزابيث كولتون

سيندي أيزنبيرج

 

 

الموظفات المتدربات


جوليا هالبرين جاكسون، موظفة تحرير متدربة

حسنا زيراوي ، موظفة تحرير متدربة
سوديشنا سن جوبتا
، موظفة تحرير متدربة

كاريس هايدن ، موظفة تحرير متدربة

ويليام ديفار ، موظف تحرير متدرب

 

 

شكر خاص إلى


شركة ميدياتروب لتصميم مواقع الإنترنت

مايكل ياب، المصمم

101 للترجمات

 


الشركاء

الصندوق العالمي للمرأة

الصندوق العالمي للمرأة هو مؤسسة مانحة للتمويلات تقوم بإنشاء منظمات حقوق المرأة، وتقويتها، والربط بينها في كل أنحاء العالم.  


مشروع البيت الأبيض

مشروع البيت الأبيض هو منظمة غير حزبية، غير هادفة للربح تهدف إلى تحسين القيادة النسائية في كل المجتمعات والقطاعات - وصولاً إلى رئاسة الولايات المتحدة - عن طريق ملء خطوط القيادة بمجموعة كبيرة وشديدة التنوع من النساء.

 


شراكة تعليم النساء

شراكة تعليم النساء مكرسة للقيادة النسائية وتمكين النساء. الهدف الرئيسي من شراكة تعليم النساء هو زيادة عدد النساء اللاتي يتولين أدواراً في مجال القيادة وصنع القرار في الأسرة، والمجتمع، وعلى المستويات الوطنية ويمارسن نموذجاً للقيادة يتميز بأنه أفقي، وديمقراطي، ومساوي بين البشر، وشاملاً.

 


الشركاء التنظيميون


اتحاد تطوير حقوق المرأة
مشروع الوحدة العالمية
رفقاء العدالة
نساء تصنع أفلاماً

مؤسسة ناثان كامينجر

تقوم مؤسسة ناثان كامينجز على التقاليد اليهودية وتلتزم بالقيم الديمقراطية والعدالة الاجتماعية؛ بما في ذلك العدل، والتنوع، والمجتمع. وتسعى إلى بناء مجتمع عادل اجتماعياً واقتصادياً، يقدّر قيمة التوازن البيئي ويحميه من أجل الأجيال المستقبلية، وتقوم بتطوير الرعاية الصحية الإنسانية، وترعى الفنون والثقافة التي تثري المجتمعات.

تدين المؤسسة بوجودها وإلهامها إلى ناثان كامينجر الذي نهض من بداية فقيرة ليصبح مؤسس شركة سارا لي والقوة والمرشدة لها. لقد ورث روح المشاركة والإحساس بالمجتمع من والديه المهاجرين، ونقل هذه القيم إلى أبنائه وأحفاده الذين يساهمون الآن في المؤسسة بوقتهم وجهودهم.

 


شارلز شواب

ركة تشارلز شواب (اسم السهم في مؤشر ناسداك: SCHW) هي متعهد رائد للخدمات المالية ولها أكثر من 300 مكتب، و7.0 مليون حساب سمسرة للعملاء، و1.2 مليون مشترك في خطط تقاعد الشركات، و262,000 حساب مصرفي، و1.4 تريليون دولار أمريكي من مدخرات العملاء. توفر الشركة من خلال فروعها العاملة مجموعة كاملة من خدمات السمسرة في الأسهم، والأعمال المصرفية، وإدارة الأموال، وخدمات الاستشارات المالية للمستثمرين الأفراد ومستشاري الاستثمار المستقلين.

وتقدم شركة السمسرة-المضاربة التابعة لها، وهي شركة تشارلز شواب وشركاه (عضو مؤسسة حماية المستثمر في الأسهم،  http://www.sipc.org)، والشركات التابعة لها مجموعة كاملة من خدمات ومنتجات الاستثمار، ويتضمن ذلك اختياراً واسعاً من الصناديق المشتركة، واستشارات التخطيط المالي والاستثمار، وخدمات خطط التقاعد وخطط التعويض عن حق الملكية، وترشيح مستشاري استثمار مستقلين بأتعاب، والدعم الوصائي والعملياتي والتجاري لمستشاري الاستثمار المستقلين بأتعاب من خلال قسم شواب المؤسسي في الشركة. ويوفر مصرف تشارلز شواب (عضو المؤسسة الفدرالية للتأمين على الودائع) خدمات ومنتجات مصرفية ورهن عقاري. يتوافر المزيد من المعلومات على الموقع الإلكتروني www.schwab.com.

مؤسسة تشارلز شواب هي مؤسسة خاصة غير هادفة للربح، تمولها شركة تشارلز شواب. تتمثل مهمتها في دعم المجتمع عن طريق دعم قضايا يختارها موظفوها، ورعاية التوعية المالية من خلال التمويل، والمشاركة، والخبرات. يتوافر المزيد من المعلومات على الموقع الإلكتروني www.aboutschwab.com/community.


ويلز فارجو

ركة ويلز فارجو وشركاه (اسم السهم في مؤشر نايس: WFC) هي شركة خدمات مالية متنوعة توفر الخدمات المصرفية، والتأمين، والاستثمارات، والرهن العقاري، والقروض الاستهلاكية من خلال ما يقرب من 6000 متجر، والإنترنت، وقنوات التوزيع الأخرى في كافة أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية وعلى مستوى العالم.

يقع المقر الرئيسي لشركة ويلز فارجو في سان فرانسيسكو، لكنها شركة لامركزية. وبناء على ذلك، يمثل كل متجر محلي لشركة ويلز فارجو مقراً رئيسياً لتلبية كل الاحتياجات المالية لعملائها ومساعدتهم على النجاح مالياً. تمتلك شركة ويلز فارجو أصولاً قيمتها 575 بليون دولار أمريكي وفريق عمل مكون من 159800 عضواً في كافة مؤسساتنا التجارية التي تزيد على 80. وتحتل شركة ويلز فارجو المرتبة السابعة والعشرين في الولايات المتحدة من حيث عدد العمالة (تقرير مجلس الأوراق المالية الأمريكي في شهر 12/2007). وقد احتلت المرتبة الرابعة من حيث الأصول، والسادسة من حيث القيمة السوقية لسهمها بين نظرائنا حتى 31 ديسمبر (كانون أول) 2007.

رؤية شركة ويلز فارجو: تلبية كل الاحتياجات المالية لعملائنا، ومساعدتهم على النجاح مالياً، وأن نكون المتعهد الرئيسي للخدمات المالية في كل سوق من أسواقنا، وأن نكون معروفين كواحدة من أعظم الشركات في أمريكا.


مؤسسة عائلة باربارا لي

تكرس منظمة عائلة باربارا لي جهودها لإشراك النساء في عملية الديمقراطية الأمريكية وتنمية مشاركتهن على كافة المستويات في الحكومة.


Contact Us

International Museum of Women

101 Howard Street, Suite 480

San Francisco, CA 94119

USA

 info@imow.org

 



الدخول



Clio Talks Back Blog

About Women, Power, and Politics

Please enable JavaScript and install Flash to view videos.

Welcome to a world where women rule!

Untold stories of women claiming and exercising their power around the world and throughout history come alive in I.M.O.W.'s global online exhibition Women, Power and Politics.

From March 8 to December 31, 2008, I.M.O.W. unveiled new stories to audiences worldwide in Arabic, English, French and Spanish. Each month we focused on a different topic and asked the questions no one else was asking. The exhibition now features hundreds of curated and community stories, videos and artwork from over 200 countries.

Women, Power and Politics will continue to be available permanently as one of the largest online sources of content about women's political participation.

To start your journey through the exhibition, watch our Welcome video, select a topic to explore or look at our list of inspiring take actions. You can also watch our exhibition launch video (on left) featuring Mary Robinson, former president of Ireland, or read a letter from Curator Masum Momaya.


Letter from Curator Masum Momaya

 

Women, Power and Politics is curated by Masum Momaya. Ms. Momaya has been a women's rights activist for more than 15 years and holds advanced degrees in public policy, feminist studies, education, and human development and psychology from Stanford and Harvard Universities. Read her personal inspirations and the overall vision behind the Women, Power and Politics exhibition.


I'll never forget an "a-ha!" moment during college that changed my life forever. I was sitting in a class discussing research about rural village women in India, the land of my ancestors. By most measures, people would consider them powerless - poor, illiterate, worthy of pity.

But this was not the conversation of our class. We spoke of the songs they sang, the strength in their voices, and the sharpness of words that conveyed a nuanced understanding of the world around them. In harmony, these women were nothing less than a force to be reckoned with.

This was the 1990s, when scholars instructed students to deconstruct, or take apart, everything. Every effort was "problematic" in some way or another, and people were "dupes" of "the system." Useful as this might have been to understanding why things were the way that it were, it drained my creative force and left me with little hope.

The "ah-ha" came when I thought to myself, "in order for the world to be different, you have to be able to imagine it, to articulate a vision for the world that you do want. It cannot come into being without that. That's what these women in India were doing, imagining and articulating through song the world they wanted to live in.

This is what the International Museum of Women -- and Women, Power and Politics - are about. Together -- the museum, our contributors, and our visitors are creating a place for this imagination to happen. Using words, art, film and song from around the world, from past and present, we are articulating a vision for a better world.

Wars are fought over words, art, and the ways in which we represent the world. And peace, equality and social justice, will, in the end, also be made through representing the world authentically anew.

I invite you to join in this remaking. As Arundhati Roy so eloquently puts it, "Another world is not only possible, she is on her way. On a quiet day I can hear her breathing." It is up to us to give that breath voice.

In the spirit of invitation,

Masum Momaya
Curator of Women, Power and Politics

 


Meet the Team

Exhibitions Staff

Sanja Alajbegovic, Editorial Coordinator
Jean Cheng, Director of Online Exhibitions
Renee Gasch
, Online Promotions Coordinator
Catherine King
, Vice President of Exhibitions and Programs
Masum Momaya
, Curator, Women, Power and Politics
Kathryn Robinson, Multimedia Coordinator

Contributors

Debbie Costello, Interim Exhibitions Manager

Allison Dufty, Editor

Tamera Ferro, Project Manager

Wendy Miller, Image Acquisition Specialist

Christina Murray, Video Editor


Exhibitions Committee

Elizabeth Colton
Karen Offen
Nancy Unobskey


Special Thanks

101 Translations
Marie Ange Bordas, Artwork
Mediatrope, Website Design
Michael Yap, Design

Advisors

M. Jacqui Alexander
Purnima Bhatt
Ida Blom
Gabriela Cano
Mounira Maya Charrad
Carol Chetkovich
Farida Jalazai
Temma Kaplan
Terry McAullife
Tricia Murajda
Deborah Puntenney
Lyn Reese
Holly Taylor Sargeant
Jessica Taft


Interns

William DeVar
Charys Hayden
Julia Halprin Jackson
Sudeshna Sen Gupta
Hasna Ziraoui
Cate Conmy
Tess-Marie White
Morgan Levey
Laura Hennemann


Lead Organizational Partners

Global Fund for WomenThe Global Fund for Women is a grantmaking foundation that seeds, strengthens and links women's rights organizations in every part of the world.


The White House Project


The White House Project is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that aims to advance women's leadership in all communities and sectors-up to the U.S. presidency-by filling the leadership pipeline with a richly diverse, critical mass of women.


Women's Learning Partnership


Women's Learning Partnership (WLP) is dedicated to women's leadership and empowerment. WLP's primary objective is to increase the number of women taking on leadership and decision-making roles at family, community, and national levels, practicing a leadership style that is horizontal, democratic, egalitarian, and inclusive.



Supporters

The Nathan Cummings Foundation


The Nathan Cummings Foundation is rooted in the Jewish tradition and committed to democratic values and social justice, including fairness, diversity, and community. It seeks to build a socially and economically just society that values and protects the ecological balance for future generations; promotes humane health care; and fosters arts and culture that enriches communities.

The Foundation owes its existence and inspiration to Nathan Cummings, who rose from impoverished beginnings to become the founder and guiding force of the Sara Lee Corporation. He inherited a spirit of sharing and a sense of community from his immigrant parents and transmitted these values to his children and grandchildren, who now contribute their time and energy to the Foundation.


Charles Schwab


The Charles Schwab Corporation (Nasdaq: SCHW) is a leading provider of financial services, with more than 300 offices and 7.0 million client brokerage accounts, 1.2 million corporate retirement plan participants,262,000 banking accounts, and $1.4 trillion in client assets. Through its operating subsidiaries, the company provides a full range of securities brokerage, banking, money management and financial advisory services to individual investors and independent investment advisors.

Its broker-dealer subsidiary, Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. (member SIPC, http://www.sipc.org), and affiliates offer a complete range of investment services and products including an extensive selection of mutual funds; financial planning and investment advice; retirement plan and equity compensation plan services; referrals to independent fee-based investment advisors; and custodial, operational and trading support for independent, fee-based investment advisors through its Schwab Institutional division. The Charles Schwab Bank (member FDIC) provides banking and mortgage services and products. More information is available at www.schwab.com.

Charles Schwab Foundation is a private, nonprofit organization funded by the Charles Schwab Corporation. Its mission is to give back to the community by supporting employee-selected causes and fostering financial literacy through funding, involvement and expertise. More information is available at www.aboutschwab.com/community.


Wells Fargo


Wells Fargo & Company (NYSE: WFC) is a diversified financial services company providing banking, insurance, investments, mortgage and consumer finance through almost 6,000 stores, the internet and other distribution channels across North America and internationally.

Wells Fargo is headquartered in San Francisco, but it is decentralized so every local Wells Fargo store is a headquarters for satisfying all our customers' financial needs and helping them succeed financially. Wells Fargo has $575 billion in assets and 159,800 team members across our 80+ businesses. Wells Fargo is the United States' 27th largest employer (SEC 12/07). Wells Fargo ranked fourth in assets and sixth in market value of our stock among our peers as of December 31, 2007.

The Wells Fargo Vision: To satisfy all its customers' financial needs, help them succeed financially, be the premier provider of financial services in every one of our markets, and be known as one of America's great companies.


Barbara Lee Family Foundation

 

The Barbara Lee Family Foundation is dedicated to engaging women in the American democratic process and promoting their participation at all levels of government.


Contact Us


International Museum of Women

101 Howard Street, Suite 480

San Francisco, CA 94119

USA

info@imow.org

 



Log In



Clio Talks Back Blog