Familia e hijos: fears

Añada Su Comentario >

fears

i am a mother.
i don't like being a mother.
don't like being her.

it took me my final 2 years of art school to work through this...to say i did it, but i don't like it

i abandoned the fear of what the society thought.."it doesn't work that way" "wicked woman" "selfish bitch" "you can't say that"...this includes hearing women say this as well

Marisa
Estados Unidos

I am an imperfect mother

This is a courageous statement for you to make. Readers would love to learn more about how you see yourself in this role and why you feel so much displeasure in these shoes. Not to judge, but to support.

'The Terrible Mother'

Hello Allison.

I am a painter as well, wrestling with the same issues you mentioned. I come from a long line of 'accidental mothers' who spent a long time living in resentment of their forced roles. I see everywhere in our mythologies, stories, movies and other media a completely polar idea of 'mother'. Mother is either the Virgin Mary or she is a child-devouring Medusa.

I often feel trapped and unable to express my real struggles with the mother archetype for fear of societal judgment and possible condemnation and punishment.

Because my daughter nearly died shortly after birth, I feel I was given the opportunity to really say that I truly wanted to raise her and to have her. So I am very grateful to have the experience of being her mother but I struggle mightily with the choices I must make between raising her myself or being financially independent, between parenting her in my own way or cowing to modern psychological ideals, between allowing myself to be good enough or constantly living in fear and guilt of having permanently damaged my child on a bad day.

I would love to hear more from you on your own struggles. I am currently attempting to move my work into the realm of 'the terrible mother' and my own power struggles with the role of modern motherhood.