Histoires

Ather Zia

Etats Unis

  • Situation géographique Amérique du nord


Soumissions

Une protestation pro-liberté

dimanche 9 janvier 2011 02:02

Voix de la Communauté: Ather Zia

Erudite cachemirienne, journaliste et ancienne fonctionnaire, Ather Zia, offre une histoire détaillée et rarement abordée des élections et des campagnes électorales dans la région contestée du Cachemire (Inde). Elle explique l'histoire compliquée de cette région et approfondit une série de problèmes concernant la désillusion des Cachemiriens concernant la politique électorale, la quasi invisibilité des femmes dans les positions de leadership, les parentés politiques des femmes, les trucages et la lutte des Cachemiriens pour l'auto-détermination.

Résistance Voilée: Asiya s'adresse à une assemblée. Dirigeante de l'organisation des femmes séparatistes islamiques orthodoxes du Cachemire, Dukhtaran-e-Milat (Filles de la Foi), Asiya mène la protestation contre les injustices sociales et l'occupation indienne...

vendredi 11 juillet 2008 16:57

Érudite, journaliste et ancienne fonctionnaire cachemirienne, Ather Zia détaille l'éventail de façons dont les femmes s'impliquent en politique dans la région en conflit du Cachemire, Inde. A travers les profils de différentes activistes, elle montre que bien que l'idéologie et les actions politiques de ces femmes diffèrent, elles participent néanmoins de plus en plus dans la préparation de l'avenir du Cachemire.


Connexion

Stories

Ather Zia

United States

  • Geographic Location: North America


Submissions

A pro-freedom protest

Sunday, January 09, 2011 2:02 AM

Featured Community Voice: Ather Zia

Kashmiri scholar, journalist and former civil servant Ather Zia offers a detailed and rarely discussed history of the elections and campaigns in the disputed region of Kashmir in India. She explains the complicated history of the region and delves into the serious issues regarding Kashmiris' general disenchantment with electoral politics, women's near invisibility in leadership positions, women's political kinships, rigging, and the Kashmiri struggle for self-determination.

Veiled Resistance: Asiya addressing a gathering. Leader of Kashmir's orthodox Islamic separatist women's organization, Dukhtaran-e-Milat (Daughters of the Faith), Asiya has been leading protests against social ills and the Indian occupation...

Friday, July 11, 2008 4:57 PM

Kashmiri scholar, journalist and former civil servant Ather Zia details the range of ways in which Kashmiri women participate in politics. Through profiles of various women activists, she shows that although women differ ideologically and in their political actions, they nevertheless participate increasingly in shaping Kashmir's future.


Log In