المفضلة

بعد اختطاف إنغريد بيتانكورت في عام 2002، واصل زوجها وأمها حملتها الانتخابية لمنصب الرئاسة باستخدام صورة بالحجم الطبيعي للمرشحة.

05/ذو القعدة/1431 10:46 ص

غالباً ما تواجه النساء تحديات وتهديدات صريحة لسلامتهن وأمنهن في مسيرة الحملة الانتخابية. من بين أبرز الأمثلة إنغريد بيتانكورت المرشحة لرئاسة كولومبيا التي تم اختطفتها قوات حرب عصابات في عام 2002 أثناء حملتها الانتخابية. بعد ست سنوات طويلة من السجن، كان إطلاق سراحها يبدو أمراً ميئوساً منه. وفي الثاني من يوليو (تموز) عام 2008، جاءت أخبار بأنه قد تم تحريرها مع 14 رهينة آخرين في غارة جريئة قامت بها قوات الكوماندوز الكولومبية. يسترجع المتحف العالمي للنساء القصة الملحمية لهذه المرأة السياسية البارزة.

كان عدم العنف أسلوباً أساسياً للاحتجاج بالنسبة إلى سيدات جرينهام.

08/رجب/1429 05:47 م

هل هناك أي شيء يُعتبر شخصياً - وسياسياً - بالنسبة إلى النساء أكثر من أجسادهن؟ وعياً من النساء بالشحنة السياسية التي في أجسادهن، فقد دفعن بأنفسهن جسدياً في المساحات العامة للاحتجاج على الحروب والظلم الإنساني واستغلال القوة. إن أحد أكثر الأمثلة قوةً وامتداداً زمنياً لنساء يستخدمن أجسادهن من أجل احتلال مساحة في احتجاج غير عنيف هو نساء جرينهام كومون.

منذ عام 1981 وحتى عام 2000، احتشدت عشرات الآلاف من النساء البريطانيات للتفاوض على إنهاء انتشار السلاح النووي في قراهن. واعتراضاً على وضع صواريخ جوية نووية أمريكية في قاعدة جرينهام الجوية في بيركشاير في إنجلترا. لقد أكدت نساء جرينهام على قوتهن بتشبيك الأيدي وعمل سلسلة بطول أربعة عشر ميلاً حول قاعدة جرينهام كومون الجوية بأجسادهن، وجذبت مظاهرتهن التي امتدت لما يقرب من العشرين عاماً انتباه الإعلام العالمي وحشدت دعم الملايين حول العالم.

تعرض الصور التالية والشهادات المصاحبة لها كلاً من الإبداع والنتيجة الإيجابية لنساء يحتللن مساحة في وقت واحد.

ملصق لمنظمة "نساء يرتدين السواد"، بلغراد

08/رجب/1429 06:57 ص

الصوت المعروض في المجتمع: منظمة "نساء يرتدين السواد"، بلغراد

"نساء يرتدين السواد": هي منظمة نسائية مقاومة للنظام العسكري مقرها في بلغراد في صربيا. قاموا في الحادي والعشرين من يونيو (حزيران) 2006 بشن احتجاج مبتكر ضد الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية: قاموا بخلع ثيابهن.


الدخول

Stories

Christina Boufis



Favorites

After Ingrid Betancourt was kidnapped in 2002, her husband and mother continued her campaign for the Colombian presidency, using a life-size cut out image of the candidate.

Tuesday, October 12, 2010 10:46 AM

Women on the campaign trail often face challenges and pronounced threats to their safety and security. One of the most extreme examples is that of Colombian presidential candidate Ingrid Betancourt, kidnapped by guerilla forces in 2002 during her campaign. After six long years of imprisonment, her release seemed hopeless. On July 2nd, 2008, news broke that she and 14 other hostages had been freed in a daring raid by Colombian commandoes. I.M.O.W. looks back at the remarkable saga of this woman and politician.

Non-violence was paramount in the methods of protest used by the Greenham Women.

Friday, July 11, 2008 5:47 PM

Is there anything more personal -- and political -- to women than their bodies? Aware of the political charge of their bodies, women have physically hurled themselves in public spaces to protest wars, human injustice, and abuse of power. One of the most vivid and longstanding examples of women using their bodies to take up space in non-violent protest is the Women of Greenham Common.

From 1981 to 2000, tens of thousands of British women mobilized to negotiate an end to nuclear proliferation in their hometowns. In opposition to the stationing of U.S. nuclear air missiles at the Greenham Airbase in Berkshire England, the Women of Greenham asserted their power by holding hands and creating a fourteen-mile chain around the Greenham Common Airbase with their bodies. Their nearly twenty-year demonstration drew worldwide media attention, garnering the support of millions around the world.

The following photographs and accompanying testimonials showcase both the creativity and the positive outcome of women taking up space en masse.

Poster for Women in Black, Belgrade.

Friday, July 11, 2008 6:57 AM

Featured Community Voice: Women in Black, Belgrade

Women in Black is a feminist and antimilitarist organization based in Belgrade, Serbia. On June 21, 2006, they staged a creative protest against the Orthodox Church: They took their clothes off.


Log In